Are there eggs in bagels?

In this article, we will answer the question “Are there eggs in bagels?”, what’s the function of eggs in bagels, why should you try egg bagels, are non-vegan bagels better than vegan ones, and how to ensure the bagels are vegan.

Are there eggs in bagels?

Usually, there are no eggs in bagels. Traditionally, bagels are made using only flour, salt, water, and yeast. However, the recent variations involve the use of eggs. 

We cannot take sides on whats’ better but we do know that the egg bagels are softer, lighter, and fluffier than their eggless counterpart. Most Americans are inclining toward egg bagels for their pretty golden color and melt-in-mouth soft bite.

The mixing of eggs in the bagel dough also makes it costlier than conventional bagel bread. The addition of egg is most often accompanied by ingredients such as yellow food color or milk which further enhances the flavor. 

What’s the function of eggs in bagels?

The primary function of the eggs is leavening or rising the dough. If the dough already contains a leavening agent, such as yeast, in this case, the eggs are mainly added for flavor improvement.

If you bake, you would know why eggs are important. For one, they are excellent emulsifying agents. They emulsify the fats and bind the ingredients to make one coherent dough.

Then, the moisture in the eggs softens the otherwise chewy dough. Moreover, the fat in the eggs, which is its significant feature, weakens the gluten strands. The result is lighter and puffier bread.

The protein in the eggs further softens the dough and the yolk adds a tint of yellow color. The golden crust is the result of the Maillard reaction between sugars and proteins in the presence of heat.

Why should you try egg bagels at least once?

If you are an advocate of trying new things, we shouldn’t have to convince you to try egg bagels. One should introduce a new flavor to their palate. If this is not a compelling enough argument, you should try egg bagels for the sake of nutrition. 

Eggs not only change the flavor profile of bagels but also improve their nutritional profile. The extra protein, fats, and minerals in the egg bagels make them nutritionally superior to their eggless counterpart. Just make sure you do not have an egg allergy. If you do, egg bagels are nothing but a red flag.

What’s better: vegan or non-vegan bagels?

First, let’s understand what a vegan or non-vegan bagel is before establishing one better than the other. The answer lies in the dough ingredients. 

The dough of vegan bagels contains flour, yeast, sugar, salt, and water. Optional ingredients include oil, seeds, nuts, fruits, veggies, herbs, spices, etc.

The dough ingredients change when it comes to non-vegan dough. Some of the commonly added non-vegan ingredients to the non-vegan bagels are honey, eggs, milk, and L-cysteine. 

Moreover, non-vegan bagels do not shy away from the inclusion of dairy ingredients such as whipping cream, cream cheese, etc, meats, fish, and eggs. All of these ingredients made great toppings or fillings but render the bagels unsuitable for vegans.

The bottom line is that no type of bagel is better than the other. It all comes down to personal preference. If you like your bagel plain, chewy, and vegan, good for you. If you don’t, that’s also a great choice. 

You can add your favorite fillings or toppings to either dough for a more nutritionally superior experience. 

How to ensure the bagels are vegan?

Try Homemade bagels – Way to go

If you are very specific about the ingredients that go in your bagel, bake your bagels at home. You can play with the filling and the toppings like to make your bagels more interesting. For instance, seeds, veggies, fruits, herbs, and grains add enormous nutrients to your otherwise basic bagel. 

Similarly, toppings such as nut butter, meat substitutes, hummus, veggies, fruits, etc can enhance the look of your bagels while adding flavor and nutrition.

Never ignore the label

Learn about the food you are eating. When you purchase your bagels from the store, go through its label. Drop the bagel if its label mentions any non-vegan ingredient.

If the source of a particular ingredient is unclear to you from the label, feel free to contact the manufacturer.

Purchase vegan-certified products 

Find the brands that cater to your needs and expectations regarding vegan products. These brands strictly adhere to the requirements laid out for producing a vegan product. 

Conclusion 

In this article, we answered the question “Are there eggs in bagels?”, what’s the function of eggs in bagels, why should you try egg bagels, are non-vegan bagels better than vegan ones, and how to ensure the bagels are vegan.

References 

https://www.gothambagels.com/blog/what-is-an-egg-bagel#:~:text=Normally%2C%20bagel%20dough%20does%20not,of%20sugar%20and%20yellowing%20coloring
https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/are-bagels-vegan#how-to-be-sure

What was missing from this post which could have made it better?

Leave a Comment